Omtata wants Duale, other MPs citizenship probed


Activist Okiya Omtatah has now released a list of 10 MPs who are suspected to be holding dual citizenship.
In a letter to Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) and posted on his Twitter account, Omtatah wants the legislators probed as it is against Kenya’s constitution for anybody with foreign citizenship to hold any state office.
Four MPs from North Eastern region are said to be having Somali citizenship and they include National Assembly Majority Leader Adan Duale (Garissa Town), Adan Haji Ali (Mandera South), Mohammed Dahir Duale (Dadaab) and Lagdera’s MP Mohammed Garane.
Kamukunji MP Yusuf Hassan Abdi and his Marsabit counterpart Safia Abdi are said to be holding United Kingdom nationalities while Naivasha’s Jane Kihara is registered as US Citizen.
In the Senate, Narok Senator Ledama Olekina and his Nakuru counterpart Susan Kihika are registered as US’ citizens.
Omtatah requested EACC to make public their findings within 15 days adding that it is important for the lawmakers to adhere to the laws they expected the diplomats to adhere to.
“In the spirit of adhering to the rule of law and applying the law consistently and equally to all, it’s of national importance and public interest that our legislators submit themselves to the same standards they have set for diplomats,” reads part of Omtatah’s letter.
Legislators named in the Omtata list have however refuted the claims.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here